Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section (\$AS)L 2019-2020 Annual Report

The 20192020 ALISIS Executive Board Members were: Lisa A. Goodman, Chair; Sabrina Sondhi, Vice Chair/Chair Elect; Ingrid Mattson, Secretary/Treasurer; Amanda Bolasson, MemberAt-Large; and Anna Lawlessollins, Immediate Past Chair.

The woodekadologithL

e haid arinvin(h)-0.7

coordinated and moderated by Cindy Guyer, Senior Law Librarian, University of Southern California Law School.

The Local Arrangements Committee planned and presented a Virtual Middle Managers' Breakfast with the theme "Managing through COVID from the Middle Manager's Perspective," featuring speakers Eileen Santos, Associate Director, Howard University School of Law Library; and Christina Glon, Associate Law Librarian for Research Services, Emory University, Hugh F. MacMillan Law Library. The presentation was moderated by Local Arrangements Committee Chair Brian Barnes, Director of the Law Library, Loyola University College of Law. The Committee also planned and presented a Virtual Directors Breakfast on the topic "Social Movements in Times of Change: How Law Libraries Can Support Student Wellness and Success," featuring speaker Ronald Wheeler Jr., Director of the Fineman & Pappas Law Libraries and Associate Professor of Law, Boston University. It was moderated SNS ACIII Lisa A. Goodman, Executive Professor and Director, Dee J. Kelly Law Library, Texas A&M University School of Law.

The Awards Committee selected several award recipients, who were acknowledged and gave brief remarks during our Virtual Annual Business Meeting as pated not to hold a virtual awards reception. This year, the awards were sponsored by LexisNexis. Jennifer L. Beassonsiate Director for Administration & Scholarship and Senior Lecturing Fellowate University's J. Michael Goodson Law Library received the ALLSIS Outstanding Article Award funknown Symbols": Online Legal Research in the Age of Emoji38 Legal Reference Services Q. 155 (2019). Linda Tashbook, FCIL Librarian at the University of Pittsburgh's Barco Law Library was presented the Publication Award for her work, Family Guide to Mental Illness and the Law: A Practical Handbook (Oxford University Press). Richard Leiter, Director of the Schmid Law Library & Professor of Law, University of Nebraska College of Law, was recognized with the Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship.

The Awards Committee also selected several grant recipients this year. The following recipients received grants for the AALL Virtual Annual Meeting: Susan Azyndar, Reference Librarian at Moritz Law Library, The Ohio State University; Nathan Delmar, Reference and Scholarly Services Librarian at Maloney Law Library, Fordham Law School; and Stephanie Ziegler, Reference Librarian at Moritz Law Library, The Ohio State University. The following recipients were awarded grants in the amount of \$1250 to attend AALL's Leadership Academy: Brittany Persson, Head of Public Services & Associate Professor, Seton Hall University School of Law, and Margaret Wilderse, Facult Services Librarian, Indiana University School of Law.

The Continuing Education Committee, chaired by Jesse Bowman, Associate Law Librarian for Technology Initiatives & Instruction, Northwestern Pritzker School of Lawspoonsored along with FGSUS a webinar entitled "CrossBorder Cultural Competency: Teaching Foreign Law Students and Training International Lawyers." A detailed summary of the webinar was published on the FSChipLawMatic Dialoguesblog.

Complete committee reports from all ASIS committees may be found in Volume 39, Issue 4 of the ALL SISNewsletter.

At several points throughout the year the Executive Board attempted to embark on a wholescale revision of the ALSIS Operations Handbookiven the sheer breadth of the task, the Board was unable

to make significant progress. As a result, the Board decided that an ad hoc committee will be appointed in the upcoming year for the sole purpose of revising and updating the Operations Handbook. The Handbook Revision Committee will be chaired by Lisa Goodman in her role as Past Chair.

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa A. Goodman Chair, 20192020